Lorde Reveals That ‘Solar Power’ Was Going To Be An Acid Album, Until A Bad Trip

New Zealand pop queen, Lorde has had a big ol’ chat with The New York Times. She revealed that she thought her forthcoming album, Solar Power would be an acid album, but it turns out it’s a weed one… If the fennel bong wasn’t a hint.

The interview comes as part of NYT’s ‘Diary of a Song’ series. In this instalment, Lorde was asked if the lyrics “Come on and let the bliss begin // Blink three times when you feel it kicking in” referenced acid.

“I thought I was going to make this big acid record, but I don’t think it was an acid album,” she explains.

“I had one bad acid experience in this album, and I was like, ‘Meh, it’s a weed album.’ It’s one of my great weed albums.”

The revelation isn’t a super big surprise, given the fennel bong in the ‘Solar Power’ music video and her most recent single, ‘Stoned At The Nail Salon’.

We do stan though.

Elsewhere in the interview she talks about getting Clairo and Phoebe Bridgers on ‘Stoned At The Nail Salon’ and their shared love for harmonies.

You can watch Lorde’s interview with The New York Times here.

Lorde’s third studio album Solar Power is due to arrive Friday, 20th August.

Check out the tracklisting for the album below.

Lorde’s ‘Solar Power’ Tracklisting

Out Friday, 20th August

1. The Path
2. Solar Power
3. California
4. Stoned in the Nail Salon
5. Fallen Fruit
6. Secrets From a Girl (Who’s Seen It All)
7. The Man with An Axe
8. Dominoes
9. Big Star
10. Leader of a New Regime
11. Mood Ring
12. Oceanic Feeling

The post Lorde Reveals That ‘Solar Power’ Was Going To Be An Acid Album, Until A Bad Trip appeared first on Music Feeds.